Skip navigation
Free instant online valuation

Property Features

Back to Blog

ICC Women’s World Twenty 20


The ten-team tournament, featuring three time champions Australia, reigning ICC Women’s World Cup winners England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and defending champions the Windies – plus two qualifiers – will be played across three venues in the Caribbean between 9th and 24th November.

The event kicks off at the Guyana National Stadium, starting with India and New Zealand. In the second match, Australia will play Pakistan and the Windies round off the day playing Qualifier 1 under lights. The venue will also host matches between arch-rivals India and Pakistan on 11th November, as well as Australia and New Zealand two days later. England’s first game takes place against Sri Lanka in St Lucia on 10th November and will play against Bangladesh in the same place two days later.

England have named three uncapped players in their squad, including Loughborough Lightning left-arm spinners Kristie Gordon and Linsey Smith, as well as all-rounder Sophia Dunkley who helped Surrey Stars win the Women’s Super League this year.

Alex Hartley, Georgia Elwiss and Laura Marsh, all World Cup winners in 2017, were not included in England’s 15-strong squad, while left-arm seamer Katie George, who impressed after making her T20 and ODI debuts this year, also misses out. Heather Knight will captain England, who won the inaugural Women’s World T20 in 2009 and beat India to win the World Cup in the 50-over format last year.

Coach Mark Robinson said: “ Everyone is looking forward to the challenges ahead and we can’t wait to get out there and get started .”

It will be the first time that a Women’s World T20 will be held as a stand-alone tournament without a men’s competition being played in parallel – while the Decision Review System will be used for the first time at a World T20 event, with all 23 games broadcast live.

Back to Blog